The Nobel Peace Prize

Yasser Arafat, one of the winners of this award / the

Yasser Arafat, one of the winners of this award / the

In the case of a suitable candidate being found, this is an international prize, awarded annually, to a person or an institution considered by a Swedish/Norwegian committee, to have made outstanding contributions to peace. A trust fund to finance the award was established in the will of Swedish industrialist and chemist Alfred Nobel (1833 – 1896).

The prize consists of a valuable gold medal commemorating the award, with name and date, and a not insubstantial sum of cash. It is presented to the lucky peacemaker in Oslo on December 10th, anniversary not of Nobel’s birth, but his death.

To be found in the list of winners of the Nobel Peace Prize are the names of several members or leaders of terrorist gangs, or powerful politicians historically known for a preference for violence before discussion. They include Theodore Roosevelt (Cuban Wars), Henry Kissinger (Vietnam and Laos), Menachem Begin (blowing up the King David hotel), Nelson Mandela (spent far too many years as a convicted terrorist) and Yasser Arafat (responsible for Palestinian terrorism).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *